Best Published Paper Award

Initiated in 1995, with the first award made in 1996, the purpose of the prize is to celebrate the work of the scholars and professionals in the planning field publishing in European planning journals. It also serves to bring to the attention of planning academics and other interested parties across Europe the range of academic work being undertaken in the spatial planning field and to exchange literature between our different national academic culture. Annually, the Editorial Boards of more than 50 European planning journals are invited to nominate the best published papers of their journal for the prize.


Best Published Paper Award Committee

The selection of the winning articles is carried out by a committee nominated by AESOP’s Council of Representatives. The AESOP Published Paper Award Committee consists of the following members:

AESOP would like to express its sincere thanks to four previous members of the Best Published Paper Award Committee for their dedication and service: previous chair Karina Pallagst (University of Kaiserslautern, Germany); Umberto Janin Rivolin (Politecnico di Torino, Italy); and Roelof Verhage (University Lumiere Lyon II, France) and Garri Raagmaa (University of Tartu,Estonia).


2011 AESOP Best Published Paper Prize

Published at: 17 October 2011

The winners of the 2011 Best Published Paper Prize is:

Roitman, S., Webster Ch., Landman, K. (2010), ‘Methodological frameworks and interdisciplinary research on gated communities’,  International Planning Studies, 15(1): 3–23.

The final nominated short list was the following:

Roitman, S., Webster Ch.,, Landman, K. (2010), Methodological frameworks and interdisciplinary research on gated communities. International Planning Studies, 15(1): 3–23.

Meth P. (2010), Unsettling Insurgency: Reflections on Women’s Insurgent Practices in South Africa. Planning Theory & Practice, Vol. 11, No. 2, 241–263, June 2010.

Wu F., He S., Webster Ch. (2010), Path dependency and the neighbourhood effect:  urban poverty in impoverished neighbourhoods in Chinese cities. EPA January 42 (1) 134.

Wetering J. van de, Wyatt  P., (2010) Measuring the carbon footprint of existing office space. Journal of Property Research Vol. 27, No. 4, December 2010, 309–336.

2010 Best Paper Prize

Published at: 1 January 2011

Winner: Matthias Bernt. 2009. "Partnerships for Demolition: The Governance of Urban Renewal in East Germany's Shrinking Cities", IJURR, Volume 33...