AESOP Annual Congress

Every year, usually in July, AESOP holds its Annual Congress, hosted by one of member universities. Congresses are a wide platform of exchange in the fields of research, education and practice in planning. They usually run around 20 thematic tracks and host outstanding invited speakers.
Every five years AESOP co-organizes the World Planning Schools Congress gathering planning schools from all over the world. AESOP congresses are open to all, but AESOP members benefit of reduced congress fees.

The latest WPSC took place in Perth, Australia (2011) and in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil (2016).

The CoRep has approved the Università Iuav di Venezia as the host of the 2019 AESOP Congress and the University of the West of England (UWE) Bristol as the host of the 2020 AESOP Congress.

Acknowledgment to Middle East Technical Univeristy in Ankara

Published at: 16 July 2012

Association of European Schools of Planning would like to thank Middle East Technical Univerisity in Ankara and express our gratitude for the organization of the AESOP Silver Jubilee Congress (11th – 15th July). The team from Ankara has shown tremendous dedication to the task and remarkable reliability.


Published at: 1 January 2012

The Association of European Schools of Planning (AESOP) will hold its 26th Annual Congress in Ankara, Turkey, from 11 to 15 July 2012. As 2012 will also mark the 25th Anniversary of AESOP our aim is to celebrate the occasion with the participation of many distinguished guests and keynote speakers, along with a number of special sessions and activities. The Congress will also provide the setting for stimulating workshops, round-table discussions, and exciting excursions, during which issues of spatial planning and development specific to Ankara may also be explored.



List of AESOP Annual Congresses

1987 - Amsterdam, The Netherland (Inaugural Congress)

1988 - Dortmund, Germany

1989 - Tours, France

1990 - Reggio Calabria, Italy

1991 - Oxford, UK (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

1992 - Stockholm, Sweden

1993 - Lodz, Poland

1994 - Istanbul, Turkey

1995 - Glasgow, UK

1996 - Toronto, Canada (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

1997 - Nijmegen, the Netherlands

1998 - Aveiro, Portugal

1999 - Bergen, Norway

2000 - Brno, Czech Republic

2001 - Shangai, China (World Planning Schools Congress)

2002 - Volos, Greece

2003 - Leuven, Belgium (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

2004 - Grenoble, France

2005 - Wien, Austria

2006 - Mexico City, Mexico (World Planning Schools Congress)

2007 - Naples, Italy

2008 - Chicago, U.S. (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

2009 - Liverpool, UK

2010 - Helsinki, Finland

2011 - Perth, Australia (World Planning Schools Congress)

2012 - Ankara, Turkey

2013 - Dublin, Ireland

2014 - Utrecht/Delft, The Netherlands

2015 - Prague, Czech Republic

2016 - Rio de Janeiro, Brasil (World Planning Schools Congress)

2017 - Lisbon, Portugal

2018 - Gothenburg, Sweden