AESOP Annual Congress

Every year, usually in July, AESOP holds its Annual Congress, hosted by one of member universities. Congresses are a wide platform of exchange in the fields of research, education and practice in planning. They usually run around 20 thematic tracks and host outstanding invited speakers.
Every five years AESOP co-organizes the World Planning Schools Congress gathering planning schools from all over the world. AESOP congresses are open to all, but AESOP members benefit of reduced congress fees.

The latest WPSC took place in Perth, Australia (2011) and in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil (2016).

Recent AESOP Congresses took place in Ankara (2012), Dublin (2013), Utrecht/Delft (2014) and Prague (2015).

The 2017 AESOP Congress took place in Lisbon, Portugal.

The 2018 AESOP Congress will take place in Gothenburg, from 10 to 14 of July.

The CoRep has recently approved the Università Iuav di Venezia as the host of the 2019 AESOP Congress and the University of the West of England (UWE) Bristol as the host of the 2020 AESOP Congress.

2017 AESOP Congress in Lisbon

Published at: 9 November 2016

The 2017 AESOP Congress will take place in Lisbon, from 11 to 14 of July.

The planning and urban minded communities are invited to join efforts under the flag of the next congress topic –

SPACES OF DIALOG FOR PLACES OF DIGNITY: Fostering the European Dimension of Planning


More Informations in here.



The abstract submission new deadline is 30th January 2017.

Thank you Prague! Thank you Bratislava!

Published at: 18 July 2015

Association of European Schools of Planning would like to thank Faculty of Architecture Czech Technical University in Prague and express our gratitude for the organisation of the AESOP Annual Congress “Definite Spaces - Fuzzy Responsibility”, which took place on 13-16 July 2015­. 

AESOP owes also word of gratitude to the Institut of Management Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava for organising PhD Workshop in Stara Lesna on 6-10 July 2015.


AESOP Congress in 2017 in Lisbon!

Published at: 13 April 2015

AESOP Conuncil of Representatives during the meeting on 12th March 2015 decided that:

2017 AESOP Congress will take place in LISBON, hosted by Univeristy of Lisbon

2017 AESOP PhD Workshop will take plce in AVEIRO, hosted by Univeristy of Aveiro

2018 AESOP Congress will take place in GOTHENBURG, hosted by University of Gothenburg

2018 PhD Workshop will take place in KARLSKRONA hosted by Blekinge Institute of Technology

2016 AESOP PhD Workshop will take place in LEUVEN, hosted by KU Leuven    
(In 2016 the World Planning School Congress will take place in Rio de Janeiro)

Acknowledgment to Utrecht University and Delft University of Technology

Published at: 15 July 2014

Association of European Schools of Planning would like to thank UTRECHT UNIVERSITY and DELFT UNIVERISTY OF TECHNOLOGY and express our gratitude for the organization of the AESOP Congress 2014 (9th - 12th July 2014) FROM CONTROL TO CO-EVOLUTION. The team from Utrecht and Delft  has shown tremendous dedication to the task and remarkable reliability. 

AESOP Annual Congress 2014: From Control to Co-evolution

Published at: 1 January 2014

The AESOP Secretariat General has received several requests to extend the deadline for abstract submission for the 2014 AESOP Congress in Utrecht/Delft.

Due to substantial digital traffic on the last days of the submission, problems with uploading the abstract might have occurred.
The Local Organizing Committee
decided to extend the deadline in order to be able to accommodate the requests from our members.
If you did not succeed until now please submit you abstract until

14th January 2014, 23:59 CET (GMT+1).

Submit your abstract here.


Published at: 28 September 2013

AESOP Annual Congress 2014
in Utrecht/Delft

Call for abstracts is already open.
Check here list of tracks and submit your abstract.

Call closes on 1st January 2014.

List of AESOP Annual Congresses

1987 - Amsterdam, The Netherland (Inaugural Congress)

1988 - Dortmund, Germany

1989 - Tours, France

1990 - Reggio Calabria, Italy

1991 - Oxford, UK (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

1992 - Stockholm, Sweden

1993 - Lodz, Poland

1994 - Istanbul, Turkey

1995 - Glasgow, UK

1996 - Toronto, Canada (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

1997 - Nijmegen, the Netherlands

1998 - Aveiro, Portugal

1999 - Bergen, Norway

2000 - Brno, Czech Republic

2001 - Shangai, China (World Planning Schools Congress)

2002 - Volos, Greece

2003 - Leuven, Belgium (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

2004 - Grenoble, France

2005 - Wien, Austria

2006 - Mexico City, Mexico (World Planning Schools Congress)

2007 - Naples, Italy

2008 - Chicago, U.S. (ACSP-AESOP joint Congress)

2009 - Liverpool, UK

2010 - Helsinki, Finland

2011 - Perth, Australia (World Planning Schools Congress)

2012 - Ankara, Turkey

2013 - Dublin, Ireland

2014 - Utrecht/Delft, The Netherlands

2015 - Prague, Czech Republic

2016 - Rio de Janeiro, Brasil (World Planning Schools Congress)

2017 - Lisbon, Portugal