Planning and Complexity

Hosting organization

16th meeting: Adaptive Planning for Spatial Transformation


The Department of Spatial Planning & Environment of the university of Groningen is located at the Zernike complex, one of the university clusters, north of the city. The Department has 20 staff members, 21 PhD researchers and about 300 students. The Department is responsible for three programmes: Bachelor Spatial Planning and Design, Msc Environment & Infrastructure Planning (international master) and Msc Socio-spatial Planning (Sociale Planologie). The Department is partially responsible for the Ba in Social Geography and Planning. The Departmental research teams are ‘Urban Regions in Transition’, ‘Civil Initiatives’ and ‘Resources and Flows’.

The Faculty of Spatial Sciences is a growing faculty with an open character, having short lines between staff and students. There are four departments: Cultural Geography, Demography, Economic Geography and Spatial Planning & Environment. The research themes of the Faculty of Spatial Sciences are Wellbeing, Innovation and Spatial Transformation, and the mission of our faculty is to produce research which is world-leading, distinctive, and policy-relevant to these major issues faced by contemporary society. With two bachelor and eight master programmes, the faculty offers a wide range of courses within the field to about 950 students. The faculty conducts both fundamental and applied research. The faculty in Groningen is the only independent faculty of Spatial Sciences in the Netherlands.