Resilience and Risks Mitigation Strategies






AESOP’s RRMS thematic group on resilience and risk mitigation strategies is open to any individual researchers and professionals with an interest in the relationships between socio-spatial planning, resilience and risk mitigation. Details of the requirements for membership and rules governing the group’s operations are defined in the Code of Conduct. The draft of the Code of Conduct [DOWNLOAD LINK] will be discussed during the RRMS thematic group meeting in 2014 AESOP confernce. All members are welcome to post and contribute to the debate on the Code of conduct (contributions can be submitted to email to Angela Colucci,

Richard Sliuzas, Murat Balamir, Popi Sapountzaki, Angela Colucci, Adriana Galderisi, Cassidy Johnson


MEMBERS (active members)

Name&Surname University/ department e-mail
Richard Sliuzas University of Twente, Faculty ITC, The Netherlands
Murat Balamir Middle East Technical University, Ankara
Popi Sapountzaki Department of Geography,Harokopio University of Athens
Angela Colucci Politecnico di Milano, DIAP
Adriana Galderisi Dipartimento di Pianificazione e Scienza del Territorio, Università "Federico II", Napoli
Cassidy Johnson University College London
Stefan Greiving TU Dortmund University
Gérard Hutter Leibniz-Institute of Ecological and Regional Development (IOER),  Dresden
Valeria Monno Dip. Architettura e Urbanistica Politecnico di Bari
Marcella       Samakovlija Politecnico di Milano, DIAP
Wayne Beyea Michigan State University
Claudia Basta Wageningen University
Jenny Atmanagra University of Stuttgart
Barbara Tempels Ghent University Belgium
Lia Vasconcelos New University of Lisbona
Lorenzo Chelleri University of Barcellona
Eva-Maria Stumpo University of Stuttgart
Funda Atun Politecnico di milano , DIAP
Giulia Pesaro Politecnico di milano , DIAP
Antti Silvast University of Helsinki
Ebru Alarslan Min. of Envir. & Urbanization, Turkey
Johan Woltjer University of Groningen
Emile Dopheide ITC – University of Twente
Marcello Magoni Politecnico di Milano
Clovis Ultramari Catholic University of Parana, Curitiba, Brazil
Ulrich Graute Joint Technical Secretariat INTERREG III B CADSES




Researchers involved in RRMS meetings

  • Daniela De Leo, Sapienza University, Rome
  • Nino Chachava, Georgian Technical. University
  • Elisavet Thoidou, Aristotle Un. Thessaloniki
  • Kathrin Prenger-Berninghoff, Inst. of Urban Development, Krakow
  • Dimitra Rigopoulou, Harokopio University, Athens
  • Hilay Atalay, Okan University
  • Michael Howes, Griffith University
  • Ayşe Yönder, Pratt Institute
  • Juan Camilo Osorio, Pratt Institute
  • Binali Tercan, Abant Izzet Baysal University
  • Pınar Ertan, METU, Ankara
  • Binali Tercan, Abant Izzet Baysal University
  • Artem Balyakin, NRC Kurchatov Institute
  • Aidan While, University of Sheffield
  • Alex Altshuler, Ben Gurion University. of Negev
  • Teresa Sprague, TU Dortmund, IRPUD
  • Ayşın Dedekorkut-Howes, Griffith University

Guiding Principles for City Climate Action Planning from UN HABITAT

Published at: 11 December 2017

Recently UN-HABITAT and some of its partners have collaborated to produce a set of guidlines for national and local authorities who are striving to make cities more climate resilient. Details cane found via this link:

New UNISDR Guidebooks released

Published at: 15 June 2017

UNISDR has recently released consultative versions of three new guidebooks related to disaster risk reduction, including one specifically focussed on Land Use and Urban Planning. RRMS member, Dr. Cassidy Johnson, Development Planning Unit, UCL UK, has been instrumental in the preparation of these guidelines.

RRMS Group on Linkedin

Published at: 7 December 2015

In order to facilitate faster and better communication between AESOP members with an interest in Resilience and Risks Mitigation Strategies a new...